Professor Rachel McCulloch is the recipient of the 2013 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award.  This very prestigious award is given annually by the American Economic Association Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) to a person who has furthered the status of women in economics.   Professor McCulloch has deep and sustained support for this award from her many former students and colleagues.

Professor Anne Carter of Brandeis won this award in 2008. The only other university that has had two recipients is the University of Pennsylvania.

Past recipients of the award are:

Catherine C. Eckel (2012) Sharon Oster (2011), Elizabeth Hoffman (2010), Elizabeth E. Bailey (2009), Anne Carter (2008), Olivia S. Mitchell (2007), Barbara Fraumeni (2006), Claudia Goldin (2005), Barbara Bergmann (2004), Robin L. Bartlett (2003), Margaret Garritsen de Vries (2002), Francine Blau (2001), Marianne Ferber (2001), Eva Mueller (2000), Sandra Ohrn Moose, (1999), and Alice M. Rivlin (1998).

A press release regarding Professor McCulloch’s award can be found here.


Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind

Protected by Akismet
Blog with WordPress

Welcome Guest | Login (Brandeis Members Only)