MRSEC Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships (2015)

6 02 2015
The Division of Science wishes to announce that, in 2015, we will offer  MRSEC Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships for Brandeis students doing undergraduate research, sponsored by the Brandeis Materials Research Science and Engineering Center.The due date for applications  is February 24, 2015,  at 6:00 PM EST.MRSEC Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships will provide $5000 in stipend support to allow students to do summer research in MRSEC labs (housing support is not included). Students who will be rising Brandeis sophomores, juniors, or seniors in Summer 2015 (classes of ’16, ’17, and ’18). No prior lab experience is required. A commitment from a Brandeis MRSEC member to serve as your mentor in Summer 2015 is required.

The Division of Science Summer Program will run from May 26 – July 31, 2015. Recipients are expected to be available to do full time laboratory research during that period, and must commit to presenting a poster at the final poster session on July 30, 2015. Five positions are available.

The application form is online (Brandeis login required). Questions that are not answered in the online FAQ may be addressed to Steven Karel <divsci at>


Deser to receive 2015 Einstein Medal

18 01 2015

From BrandeisNOW:

In May, the Albert Einstein Society will award [Professor Emeritus of Physics Stanley Deser] and University of Maryland colleague Charles Misner the prestigious Einstein Medal for their contributions to the study of General Relativity. The ceremony will take place in Bern, Switzerland, where Einstein began his career.

Greater Boston Area Statistical Mechanics Meeting, Nov 8

16 09 2014

Brandeis will host the 16th annual Greater Boston Area Statistical Mechanics Meeting (GBASM) on Saturday, Nov. 8, 2014, from 9:30-3:00. GBASM is a workshop that brings together researchers interested in statistical mechanics, nonlinear dynamics, condensed matter physics, biophysics, and related topics for a day of presentations and discussions.  The meeting consists of four invited talks (30 min.), and a larger number of contributed “table talks”.

The four invited speakers for this year are:

The contributed talks will follow the format we adopted last year. Instead of three minute talks with a limited time for questions, contributors will give a brief announcement of their work in the lecture hall. We will then move to the adjacent room where each contributor will sit at a table with their laptop or tablet and discuss their research with interested participants. This format will eliminate the expense associated with posters and provide greater feedback to contributors. The time preparing for a “table talk” should be similar to preparing for a short talk.

The cost of the meeting is subsidized by the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, Brandeis University; the Department of Physics, Boston University; the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, Harvard University. Thanks to these subsidies, bagels, coffee, tea, and lunch will be provided at no cost if you register by the deadline of Saturday, Nov. 1.

More information   |  Registration


Professor Jané Kondev is named an HHMI Professor by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute

1 07 2014
Jane' Kondev

Photo by Mike Lovett

Physics professor Jané Kondev wants to bolster interdisciplinary undergraduate research at Brandeis University, and The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) has awarded him $1 million to do it.

The grant is part of the prestigious and highly competitive HHMI Professor program, which funds a small group of research scientists who are making science more engaging for undergraduate   students. Kondev is among 15 leading scientist-educators who will receive $1 million over five years to create activities that integrate research with undergraduate education.

Read the full story>>BrandeisNOW.

Physics Students from Rwanda “join the laws of physics and the principles of business”

18 06 2014

Photo by Mike Lovett

Graduate students Camille Girabawe from Prof. Seth Fraden’s lab  and Bernard Hishamunda from Prof. Zvonimir Dogic’s lab are highlighted in BrandeisNOW as “forces of change” for the scientific community in Rwanda.

Brandeis IGERT Summer Institute June 16 – June 26, 2014

12 06 2014

The second Brandeis IGERT Summer Institute begins this Monday, June 16th in Goldsmith 300 and runs through Thursday, June 26th. This will consist of a variety of talks by faculty and students on subjects in the mathematical sciences. While this is part of the IGERT training program, aimed at graduate students working across the spectrum of the mathematical sciences, we invite the Brandeis community to attend any of the talks that catch their eye. Speakers include:

  • Chris Santangelo (U Mass Amherst)– “Shape and mechanics of origami folding”
  • Matthew Headrick — “Introduction of quantum information theory”
  • Bulbul Chakraborty and Blake Lebaron — “Applications of Statistical Mechanics to Finance”
  • Daniel Ruberman — “Introduction to Knot Theory”
  • Paul Miller — “Feedback control in neural firing”
  • Albion Lawrence — “An introduction to inflation and gravity waves”
  • Eli Putzig — TBA
  • Honi Sanders — TBA
  • Tony Ng — TBA

and a schedule can be found at  or in the Brandeis Science Seminars listings.

We will be having lunch in the Volen bridge; please bring your own and join us!

So long to our 2014 Physics and Biological Physics Graduates

21 05 2014

The Physics Department wishes our 2014 physics and biological physics graduates success and happiness as they begin their new careers and education.

  • Evan Fader, Software Engineer, Amazon
  • Yuri Gloumakov (biological physics major), Graduate Student, Yale University, PhD program in mechanical engineering
  • Samuel Goldberg, Research Assistant, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
  • Gil Henkin, Graduate Student, McGill University, M.Sc. thesis degree program in bionanomachines
  • Skyler Kasko, Graduate Student, UC Santa Barbara, PhD program in physics
  • Michael Kosowsky, Graduate Student, Harvard University, PhD program in physics (NSF Graduate Fellowship award winner)
  • Brendan Reardon, Library and Technology Services, Brandeis University
  • Kathryn E. Weil, Graduate Student, Dartmouth College, PhD program in Astronomy


Michael Kosowsky ’14 receives NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

24 04 2014

KosowskyMichael Kosowsky ’14, who majored in both physics and mathematics at Brandeis, has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship in astronomy and astrophysics.  The fellowships, which are awarded based on a national competition, provide three full years of support for Ph.D. research and are highly valued by students and institutions. Kosowsky worked with Prof. David Roberts in the Physics Department on analyzing the polarization of the X-ray binary SS 433 with the purpose of figuring out the magnetic field structure of the source.  He will be pursuing a Ph.D. in physics at Harvard University starting this fall.

Other 2014 NSF Fellowship recipients from Brandeis include:

Alex Dainis  (BS ’11, Biology, Film, Television, Interactive Media), Stanford University
Abby Finkelstein (BS ’13, Neuroscience),  Arizona State University
Lamia Harper (BS ’12, Biology), NYU
Ariel Hyre  (BS ’13,  Chemistry), Boston University
Anatoly Rinberg (BS ’11, Physics, Mathematics), Stanford University
Seth Werfel  (BA ’10, Economics), Stanford University


Protected by Akismet
Blog with WordPress

Welcome Guest | Login (Brandeis Members Only)