Jeffery Kelly to receive the 2016 Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award


Jeffery W. Kelly

Jeffery W. Kelly, the Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Chemistry, and Chairman of the Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine at the Scripps Research Institute, has been selected to receive the 2016 Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine “in recognition of his profound and paradigm-shifting contributions to our understanding of protein folding mechanisms and protein misfolding diseases”.

The award, administered by the Rosenstiel Center at Brandeis, consists of a $15,000 cash prize and a medallion. Dr. Kelly will deliver the award lecture on “The Chemistry and Biology of Adapting Proteostasis for Disease Intervention” in the Shapiro Campus Center Theater at 4:00PM, on Thursday, September 29, 2016.

The Kelly Group focuses their research on understanding the principles of protein folding and comprehending the basis for misfolding diseases. They strive to develop novel therapeutic strategies using chemistry, biophysical and cell biology approaches.


Pololi receives leadership development award

Linda Pololi, Senior Scientist at the Women’s Studies Research Center, is the recipient of the 2011 Women in Medicine and Science Leadership Development Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges. Dr. Pololi serves as director and principal investigator for the National Initiative on Gender, Culture and Leadership in Medicine: C – Change. The goal of the Initiative is to foster change in the culture of academic medicine to support realizing the full potential of all faculty.

Protected by Akismet
Blog with WordPress

Welcome Guest | Login (Brandeis Members Only)