Focus on Faculty: Isaac Krauss wins Strage Award

Isaac Krauss, assistant professor of chemistry, will receive the 15th Annual Alberta Gotthardt and Henry Strage Award for Aspiring Young Science Faculty.

Isaac Krauss, photo by Mike Lovett
Isaac Krauss, photo by Mike Lovett

“Isaac has been recognized as one of the up and coming scientists in the field of chemical glycobiology,” says professor John F. Wardle, head of the Division of Science and chair of the Strage Award Selection Committee.

The Strage Award is presented annually to a distinguished junior faculty member in the Life Sciences.  Alberta Gotthardt ‘56 and Henry Strage of London, England, created the award for researchers who have not yet received tenure but have made outstanding scientific contributions in the early stages of their independent research programs.

Previous winners include chemistry professor Christine Thomas and physics professor Michael Hagan.

Krauss and his lab are researching possible HIV vaccines, using directed evolution to create antigenic mimics of the virus.

His work has been highlighted in Chemical & Engineering News  and reviewed in Nature Chemical Biology and Current Opinion in Chemical Biology. He received the 2013 National Science Foundation CAREER Award and the 2012 Thieme Chemistry Journal Award.

The award will be presented on Wednesday, April 15 in Gerstenzang 123 at 2:00 PM. Krauss will deliver a lecture entitled: “Glycocluster Evolution: Combining Organic Synthesis and Directed Evolution to Design Carbohydrate Cluster HIV Vaccine Candidates.”

Watch the video to learn more about Isaac Krauss’ work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *