Marder to receive George A. Miller Prize at CNS 2012

Eve Marder, Professor of Biology and Head of the Division of Science, has been named the recipient of the 2012 George A. Miller Prize by the Cognitive Neuroscience Society. The George A. Miller Prize in Cognitive Neuroscience was established in 1995 by the Cognitive Neuroscience Society to honor the innovative scholarship of George A. Miller whose many theoretical advances have so greatly influenced the discipline of cognitive neuroscience. The prize is awarded to the nominee whose career is characterized by distinguished and sustained scholarship and research at the cutting-edge of their discipline and that has in the past, or has the potential in the future to revolutionize cognitive neuroscience.

According to Leslie Griffith, Chair of Biology:

The awarding of this prize to Dr. Marder is a testament to the impact that her work has had on neuroscience at all levels. Over the years, her work on the stomatogastric ganglion, a small crustacean motor circuit, has provided insights into general principles of how all nervous systems function.  From the first descriptions of circuit plasticity and neuromodulation to her more recent work on the significance of biological variability, Marder has been a leader in establishing important principles of brain function.

Homarus pyloric rhythm (image by Dirk Bucher)

Protected by Akismet
Blog with WordPress

Welcome Guest | Login (Brandeis Members Only)